Images: The Girl Tyler

It wasn’t the craziest of weekends but for some reason it was a super crazy Monday … Andy got up SUPER early to go to Chicago for work & I woke up to a text from the nanny that she was out sick. Thank goodness my parents were planning on coming to town … so I asked them to come as early as possible so I could get some things done, go to the office for a few hours in the afternoon, and be home for camp pick-up & making dinner. Add in a dog who insisting on peeing all over the house today + the tree trimmers taking down massive branches in our backyard + the front stoop work FINALLY starting (hello jack hammering flash backs) … oh and did I mention I got a jury summons for NEXT MONDAY.

Serenity now?

Well at least we have a seriously gorgeous wedding from The Girl Tyler to share today. Let’s get to it.

We were married at Christ & St. Luke’s Episcopal Church in Norfolk, VA. Our ceremony was actually a Lutheran one due to our original church being under construction. I reached out to Christ & St. Luke’s about our church suddenly not being available and they were so gracious and kind. I can’t express enough gratitude to everyone at that church. On top of everyone being so kind and giving, it was a stunning church and just felt right. I had tears in my eyes the first time I saw the inside of the church because it just felt right!

Our theme was “romantic candlelit walk in the park”. We wanted to bring some of the outside into the Half Moone. It was beautiful! We were right on the water, next to a battleship, and were able to bring trees inside…best of all worlds! We used all three colors in many aspects of the wedding ranging from the signage and programs to the flowers and dresses. All three colors were incorporated in our centerpieces, bouquets, koozies, frames, and even our lighting.

Our goal was for our invitations, programs, signage, menus, mad libs, and any other stationary items to look classy, timeless, and elegant. We tried to keep the words at a minimum and add swirls for a touch of character and class.

Our first dance was “Heaven’s Knife” by Josh Garrels. This is a song that we danced to during a difficult time when we were at home alone and it has been special to us since that moment. It is a song that we can listen to while John is deployed and it will take us back to our wedding day. The lyrics are simple, beautiful, and perfect for us. The singer is also from our home state of Indiana, which added another special element.

In my opinion, it is so important to start the wedding planning process in an organized fashion. It is good to have a dedicated wedding binder or folder and create a wedding folder on your computer desktop and in your e-mail where you can save all contracts, receipts, etc. The first major action item I would have her or him complete is to determine a budget. This might just be the least fun part of planning a wedding, but it is the most important (aside from marrying the love of your life, of course!). I would reinforce that you can have a beautiful wedding on a budget! I would also tell my friend that a quality photographer and videographer is a crucial investment. After your wedding day, your images and video are what you will have forever.

Wedding Film: https://vimeo.com/179527875

Vendors:

Ceremony Venue: Christ and St. Luke’s Episcopal Church
Reception Venue: The Half Moone Cruise & Celebration Center / nauticus.org/event-venues/half-moone/
Catering: East Beach Catering / eastbeachcateringandeventplanning.com/
Coordination: Simply Perfect Events / thesimplyperfectevent.com/
Officiant: Pastor David Penman
Photography: The Girl Tyler / www.thegirltyler.com 
Video: The Girl Tyler / www.thegirltyler.com 
Photo Booth:  Shutterboth Hampton Roads / shutterbooth.com/hampton-roads/
DJ: DJ Roger Cruz of Astro Entertainment / astrodj.com/#!roger-cruz/cytq
Cake: Just Cupcakes / justcupcakes.net/
Florals & Decor: Isha Foss Design / ishafossevents.com/
Stationary: Minted.com / & DIY by Bride
Rentals: Waterford Event Rentals / waterfordeventrentals.com/
Makeup: Faces by Rebecca Wood / facesbyrebeccawood.com/
Hair: Behind the Veil / behindtheveilstudio.com/
Lighting: Blue Steel Lighting / bluesteellightingdesign.com/
Bride’s Attire: Maya Couture / houseofmayabridal.com/mayacouture/
Bridesmaid Attire: Bill Levkoff from Maya Couture on Main / houseofmayabridal.com/maya-couture-on-main/
Groomsmen Attire: Black by Vera Wang from Men’s Wearhouse / menswearhouse.com/
Transportation: Truffle Shuttle / truffleshuttle.com/
Accomodations: Norfolk Waterside Marriott / marriott.com/hotels/travel/orfws-norfolk-waterside-marriott/

| Submitted via Two Bright Lights

Total
12
Shares

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*